Faith, Madness

Do we still have the capacity to think?

I’m not talking about ‘logic’ or being ‘open-minded’ or being a lover of ‘science’ or being ‘informed.’ I’m talking specifically about using the gray matter between our ears to think. To contemplate logic, to assess whether being open-minded in each situation is necessary or harmful. To question science and to understand that information is worthless, utterly and completely, without wisdom.

I scarcely think that most people who write online do so.

Obama’s Tasteless Welcome of Pope Francis

Maybe we shouldn’t expect anything much from a president who gave Queen Elizabeth an iPod filled with his own speeches, and who gave former British Prime Minister Gordon Brown a set of American movies on DVDs that didn’t work in the U.K.

The above quote is the actual end of the article in terms of using one’s brain to think, not ask questions or make hay about things we already know. It’s as if we’ve morphed hope into thoughtless positivity. As though, if we just talked enough, maybe Obama might wise up, lighten up, change, or even make some sort of actual effort to do any of those things.

You know who didn’t advocate for Obamacare’s passage? The Catholic bishops in the United States who opposed the bill.

We all knew that, didn’t we? A few more words in another article to be forgotten will surely and with certainty bring this matter to light and change it! After all: awareness! We’re addicted to it, like everything else.

While Pope Francis’ “Who am I to judge?” comment drew plenty of media attention, he is no supporter of gay marriage. In January, he said, “The family is threatened by growing efforts on the part of some to redefine the very institution of marriage, by relativism, by the culture of the ephemeral, by a lack of openness to life.” A Vatican official confirmed to Catholic site Crux that Francis was alluding to same-sex marriage.

Well, I’m certainly then going to just take the Vatican’s word that all the above pabulum the ‘Pope’ spit out had anything to do with anything. As it turns out, however, I don’t. I wouldn’t trust the Vatican any further than I could drop kick a single one of their bits of marble and stone iconography. The Vatican put this very shrewd, very charismatic but very, very incorrect doofus into the Big Hat, after all. You say he’s a man of God, do you? I merely ask simply: WHICH GOD?

Obama won’t change. He’s the Star of the Early Century because he is doing precisely what he was hired to do, which is to throw a wrench into everything smacking remotely of tradition. The writer seems shocked, utterly shocked, that the White House would wheel in the Feast of the Day, which is gay and transgender and LGBHTUIRYEISKKHS groups. I can’t keep track, don’t have a care to, on the acronym for the aberrant behaviors that might be recently included into the moniker.

I don’t listen to men in Big Hats anymore than I listen to men with big egos who globe-hop, golf and lecture me. But I do listen to God. If you’ve read me long enough, you don’t need to know Which One. The Biblical God. One thing I remember clearly that He told me through the Word is to be gentle as doves and shrewd as a serpent. The average Christian today, Catholic or Protestant notwithstanding, is about as shrewd as a bumblebee, running into the same barriers over and again with little to no course change.

If these are the End Times, and goodness knows nobody knows that, leastways myself, then our current M.O. as Christians continues to make fools of us and our God. Time to wise up.

